Mexican Cerveza / Saflager S-23

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Darcey

Landlord.
Reaction score
Hello, kegs are empty and brewery is in pieces but when tidying I found a Coopers Cerveza and I had 3x s-23 lying around that needed using so I threw them together.

This is my first time doing a 'lager' even tho it is a kit lager I am still using a lager yeast. I have temp controlled it to 11C which I suspect is at least 1C higher in the core of the fermenter. My questions are:
How long does this yeast usually take to fully ferment out?
How long should I do a rest for?
Is it worth lagering a kit beer. I was thinking of getting it down to about 1-0C for a couple of weeks to clear then kegging (force carbonation) and lagering for a further couple of weeks is this needed? I hear of people not bothering with kit beers?

d

DaveMack said:
S - 23 @ 11C takes about 3 weeks to ferment out ;)
Nice one! Been trying to find that info for the last week! I'll leave it a month before racking to 2ndary

I'd agree with DM. I wouldn't bother with a rest, and there's no harm in lagering, there's no need to rush. I find that S-23 is not very floculent, so a good period of lagering will help.

With lagers, Mr Malty's advice is to pitch and then forget about for 3-4 weeks because at the lower temperatures you are not going to get any off flavours from the trub.

Good luck :cheers: I'm going to be doing a Munich Helles lager in the morning :D