New brewer, Bolton/Wigan/Manchester area Brewster looking for ingredients

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DogAndDoris

Newborn
Reaction score
I'm brand new to the "make your house smell gorgeous and your wife complain" crew. I've just bought a Brewolution Brewster, for one pot convenience and have made two brews last week. I made an ESB, thinking, as it'll be ready first, I need something I can just drink without thinking.

Yesterday, I made a Smash IPA. I'm glad I did the ESB first. The ESB was pretty straightforward amd the only problems i really had was that i left the pump on circulating the beer, so, lost about two litres onto the kitchen floor, and over the washing machine...

The IPA was a bit more troublesome, as the hops were pellets, so they blocked the outlet, meaning I struggled to cool the wort. I simply got it into the fermentor and left it overnight.
For both, I activated the yeast in warm water first. Struggled to cool the one for the ESB so may not have been 100%. With the IPA, I simply made it up last night and poured it in this morning.

I'm struggling with the airlock on my ESB though, it doesn't seam to buble through. I have to put a bit of pressure on the lid of the fermentor to get it to bubble through. Maybe I'm being a bit hasty, but, I don't want the top to pop.

Both recipes were made from Brewolutions pre packed recipes. I'm now looking at places to get my own grain and hops, so was wondering if anyone lives in the same areas and whether they go and get their ingredients, or use one of the many online sites?

Thanks in advance and, despite the amount of cleaning I'm doing, I've enjoyed the two brew days I've had.