Hopping advice for DIY Dog

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Godfather50

Reaction score
Advice needed on the hop schedule for DIY Dog's recipe for Hopped Up Brown Ale. I drank this Brewdog beer last Christmas and thought it was good so am attempting to make it. The recipe is a bit vague about mash and boil times but I've brewed it now with the suggested start and finish hops. Now it lists:

Columbus 25g Dry Hop
simcoe 37.5g Dry Hop
Citra 12.5g FV

I'm a bit confused. Shouldn't the Citra be added now during fermentation? If so why is it listed at the end? Also when do I dry hop and for how long? I've never done this before. Last how long ould you leave it in secondary? It has got some brown malt in the beer so I think it would benefit from a couple of months, but will the hopping start to decline? Thanks in advance, and have a good Christmas!

Yes, that seems odd. In my book, anything that goes into the FV as opposed to the boiling kettle counts as a dry hop. I wonder if they mean you to add the Citra when the fermentation is past the vigorous stage, either in the primary FV, or in secondary if you use one, so that it is contact with the beer for a longer time. Then dry hop, for a more orthodox short period? Or is it a typo, and all are really dry hops? Probably doesn't make much difference, I guess.