Glass vs plastic

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SirBoneALot

Reaction score
Hi Guys

New to the site, really look forward to chatting to you.

My question is does the bottle material make a difference to your brew? Ive always used glass but plastic bottles can be had for peanuts. I never drink from the bottle so if it makes no difference to the brew im going to give it a go.

Any thoughts welcome.

Welcome Sir Bone,

I'm quite new to this myself and have been using 1L plastic bottles (they must be PET plastic) and have not noticed any plastic taste; however I believe they are not good for long term storage, ie a few months, as they leak gas, (don't we all). I've also been building up my stocks of glass bottles by buying beer, not something I intend to get used to, and bottle these along with the plastic bottles. I find that the 1L bottles are quite managable for drinking if you are careful with the first pint. I've been buying the cheapest drinks in 1L bottles from Aldi then pouring it down the drain, works out at 33p each.

I found this quite useful fro Yobrew http://www.yobrew.co.uk/beer.php#Priming

Good luck :drink:

The main problem with plastic bottles is that they are not a tightly sealed container and therefore will allow air into the beer which gives the beer a much shorter shelf life. Also brown glass bottles filters UV light which stops the beer from "skunking" (off flavours).

Depends how fast you are going to drink your beer.

I've never personally used plastic bottles but I guess there will people who will use them without any problems but I suspect they will be drinking it pretty quickly!

:cheers: