Bittering hops?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Metacomet

Reaction score
What's your preference for bittering hops? Do you have one you always use, or do you change it depending on the style you're brewing?

I ask as I recently bought a bag of Admiral (16%) which I used purely for bittering purposes in my last 4 or 5 brews. I see a lot of US forums using Magnum for bittering in different styles.
Still being a novice, I started out trying as many different grains and hops as I could my mitts on, I'm now getting to the point that I want to start figuring out what exactly each ingredient/hop does.
I've got a pale ale fermenting using all Cascade part from the Admiral for bittering. If it's as good as the sample indicates, I'd like to use the same base but experiment with different flavour hops.
So should I just continue buying any cheap high AA hop for bittering (I don't want to be using Citra at the start of the boil) or should I be trying to match it to the rest of the recipe?

Wish I could help you but I’m in the same boat,I’ve got a pack of these in the freezer but not sure

C0FBEC69-3BCE-4130-A3B8-29CA90A20A1F.jpg

Wish I could help you but I’m in the same boat,I’ve got a pack of these in the freezer but not sure

You've just remind me about the Pacific Gem hops I bought on a whim because they sounded interesting. Still no idea what recipe to use the in!

I used them as late additions and dry hop in a recent brew,lovely. Have heard bad reports about them as bittering however.
My favourite are Challenger:thumb:

My favourite are Challenger:thumb:

Mine too... along with Target. All these new hops are well and good and I always try some which are new (to me) with every order. Some are great, some so-so and some no-no. But I'll never be without Target and Challenger!