Brew kit recommendations

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ibbo999

Reaction score
I am brand new to brewing having been given a wine kit for Christmas. I am more interested in beers and am interested to hear what your recommendations are. While there are loads of kits reviewed on here with lots of great info I am looking for a lager/light beer as a first brew and would like your opinions and advice on what to try first.
As always I will also be grateful for any advice and ideas, especially views on plastic bottles.
Wish me luck.

My first kit i did a couple years ago was a coopers lager, which was pleasant enough but very "home brew tasting" ( you will know what i mean after you have done a couple of batches).

I then tried a few wilkos kits, and their Mexican cerveza one was really nice much preferred it to the coopers, but then agian it could be down to experience and improving my process.

My favorite kits though are the Brewferm kits, in particular the framboise one, but these tend to be darker Belgian beers and maybe not what you are looking for.

in terms of bottles, i got plastic bottles with my first kit and they worked really good the first time, but i tried to reuse them with the same caps and i had a few that did not carbonate properly and i could hear the gas escaping out of some of them.

i think they are ok if you buy new caps, but i prefer to reuse old glass bottles and i got a cheap crown capper, plus this gives you a good excuse to buy lots of beer as you need the bottles.

Thanks Badger.
In time hope to try all of them (my natural greedy nature is showing :D )
I just thought if I could get a brew that was generally successful then it will spur me on and convince the wife that its a good idea. :party: