Register Now!
The HomeBrew Forum > Beer Brewing Talk > Beer Brewdays! > Absolute beginner here

Help Support The Homebrew Forum by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.

Old 04-09-2014, 06:25 AM   #1
pelipar

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Absolute beginner here

Hello Everybody,

My name is Rich, but people cal me pelipar or pel for short (long story). I've seen a few of your posts and replies and you all seem like a nice bunch, so I'm going to ask you for some friendly advice and guidance.

I'm going to a friend's 30th in October and it's a home brew event (great idea). However, I've not done anything like this before and didn't know where to start.
I've ended up getting a brew kit from Wilkinson's as money's a bit tight at the mo; which included a big bucket(!), a plastic cask, a plastic spoon and a siphon tube. Looking at all of your posts about gravity and the like, this seems a bit basic. Either way, I have a wilkinsons golden ale brew on the go and it seems to be bubbling away so far.

The problem is, i really haven't got much of a clue as to what i'm doing. The instructions weren't that clear. I'm the type of person that needs details!

Anyway, it'll be nice to meet you and hopefully you chaps (and ladies?) can impart some of your wisdom, tips, tricks, and knowledge onto me, so I don't screw up the sacred drink!

Cheers

Pel

Old 04-09-2014, 07:33 AM   #2
Chippy_Tea
THBF_ADMIN.png

Liked 3723 Times on 2943 Posts
Likes Given: 4492

Welcome to the forum Pelipar.
Forum Member Map - if you would like to be added please visit this thread - http://www.thehomebrewforum.co.uk/sh...ad.php?t=67013

Old 05-09-2014, 12:34 PM   #3
cheshirehomebrew

Liked 57 Times on 56 Posts
Likes Given: 117

If you have made it and its bubbling away you have already cracked it, for now dont bother with the gravity readings, if it tastes nice then job done.

I take all my gravity readings and note them down, to date I havent actually worked out what they are