Gypsum

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GlentoranMark

Landlord.
Reaction score
I'm going to do a Stout in the next few days but the recipe calls for Gypsum. What exactly is it and what is it used for?

I'm in a soft water area, I'm thinking it's something to do with the water?

Gypsum added to burtonise the water. The water in Burton on Trent is very hard, this suits the Burton ale style. You should only add it if you have soft water.

I'm not experienced enough with water treatment to know whether it would make any difference with a stout. The one time I did add it I didn't realise that my water is already quite hard. Gypsum has laxative effects

If, like me, you’re in a soft water area, it’s a good idea to add some gypsum (calcium sulphate) and/or calcium chloride to your brewing water. The calcium helps achieve a good mash pH, promotes enzyme (amylase) activity and it’s good for the yeast too. Stouts, depending on the recipe, can be a problem in soft water areas. But there are tricks that can be used.

Yes Belfast here, I'm unsure of my water profile although I do know it's pretty clean at around 8-10ppm total dissolved solids (TDS). We don't suffer from limescale although that could be due to a low TDS.

Recipe (to be adjusted for a 21L brew as I'm metric)

5lb Pale Malt, (I'll use Irish Stout Malt)
2lb Flaked Barley
1lb Black Barley
2.25oz EKG (probably use whatever I have in the fridge and adjust)
Irish Moss
Gypsum
5 gallon water (it recommends Dublin water profile as it's a Guinness clone)
Wyeast Labs #1084

Mark, have you checked your water Co.'s website to see if they have a online water report for your area?