Did I really get 92% efficiency????

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MyQul

Chairman of the Bored
Reaction score
I made my third BIAB, a basic brown porter after cooling down the wort just before aerating and pitching I took a hydrometer reading - it was 1.063, it was estimated to be 1.048 :shock: Brew mate says that this gives me a 92% efficiency, I was aiming for 70%

I did a 90 min mash and stirred every 30 mins - I understand stirring the mash help get efficiency up. I also made sure the mash temp didn't drop below 66.

I did a mash out at 76 degree c for 10 mins - not sure whether this helps with efficiency but i did it anyway

After lautering I gave my grain bag a really good squeeze - I'm talking wringing the grains and bag till they were begging for mercy not just a little press - I understand squeezing the bag also helps with

Because I wasn't sure whether my brew length water, plus boil off water plus grains would fit in my 20L pot (as well as being worried about a boil over) I just mashed with my 10L brew length water and did a dunk sparge with the extra water that would be boiled off - squeezed the bag again and poured the sparge water and running into the pot

Would all this get my efficiency so high or have i made a mistake in calculations somewhere. I tested my hydrometer with water and its fine

jim361.png

Have you wrung the grain bag dry on your other brews? If so how did they taste?

I did this when I first started brewing AG before I knew what I was doing and read about the grain forming a natural filter and it's this I blame for that homebrew "twang" like you get in cheap kits in my first couple of AG batches.