Sugar/Brewing sugar/Spray Malt??

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

timcunnell

Regular.
Reaction score
Hey guys
So as some of you may have read, I am having another crack at brewing after losing my mojo with a run of bad batches. All going well so far! Despite being really hot I have managed to fashion a water jacket for my FV, and the thing is bubbling away beautifully!
So while I've got time to ponder things, I was wondering what the thoughts were on what to use for the secondary fermentation? When I was a proper beginner I used normal sugar, and since heard others say that this can contribute to that homebrew tang, and I was put on to using brewing sugar. My latest kit though says to use spray malt.
So I was just wondering what the story is really. Do you get better results using spray malt than sugar??

Hey guys
So as some of you may have read, I am having another crack at brewing after losing my mojo with a run of bad batches. All going well so far! Despite being really hot I have managed to fashion a water jacket for my FV, and the thing is bubbling away beautifully!
So while I've got time to ponder things, I was wondering what the thoughts were on what to use for the secondary fermentation? When I was a proper beginner I used normal sugar, and since heard others say that this can contribute to that homebrew tang, and I was put on to using brewing sugar. My latest kit though says to use spray malt.
So I was just wondering what the story is really. Do you get better results using spray malt than sugar??

Simply put yes, spray malt is like dehydrated wort (unhopped) so it will improve the flavour body and even head retention.

It is of course more expensive

Ah okay thanks mate. That does make sense.

I was going to order some bottling equipment today anyway (and some Starsan!!) so I reckon I will just order some spraymalt too while I'm at it.