Should I Dry Hop IPA Again After Unstuck Fermentation

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

merrydown

Reaction score
TL/DR: After restarting a stuck fermentation for an IPA that had been significantly dry hopped already, I am wondering if I need to dry hop a second time.

----

I am a newbie, I made an Evil Dog IPA kit a few weeks ago and then made a 2 can kit IPA I found here: http://www.thehomebrewforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=20223 The poster said he fermented down to 1.008.

With the same ingredients, my OG was 1.052 Unfortunately for me, the fermentation stuck at 1.020

I had figured it was almost stopped so dry hopped at 1.020 rather than leaving it to 1.010 as I had before. I used about 50g each of Citra and Centennial as I like a hoppy and bitter IPA.

After 3 days I recovered the hop bag and tested the SG again pessimistically. It was still at 1.020.

When I realised it wasn't going to ferment any futher without help I tried:
-Agitating it. No change.
-Adding yeast nutrient. No change.
-Adding a stuck fermentation yeast Gervin GV7 - recommended to me by my nearby brewstore. It's a hardcore, but non-killer wine yeast that will ferment ale sugars, even maltotriose (although very, very slowly for that). No change though.

doh.gif

I then did what I guess I should have done first. I tasted it. It tasted like a lowish alcohol session IPA, good bitters, I wouldn't want it much more bitter. It wasn't sweet. Nearly enough hoppy aroma / flavour too I think. I am not experienced enough to judge from a lukewarm uncarbonated brew if the aroma would be good once bottled, conditioned and chilled.

So I guess the high SG was due to unfermentables in the Light Malt. Hmm, weird the poster got his down so low, perhaps I missed something.