Seed barley supplier

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scass

Reaction score
Hi all

It's been a while since I've posted here. AG brewing has been going swimmingly here in Portugal wine country – and since I started brewing a couple of years ago a boom seems to have started. We even have a couple of local microbreweries now! I'm typing this while mashing a wheat beer (half of which is destined to become a loganberry wheat) in my new electric brewing setup.

I've been searching the forum and have found little mention of growing grains for malting. Members here seem to treat cereal farming and malting as mostly beyond the scope of the home brewer. Quite understandable... But...

I'm just wondering if anyone knows of a supplier who will sell small quantities of malting barley seed? I'm keen to have a go at growing and malting.

(We live on a smallholding. We produce a lot of what we eat, and most of the rest comes from within a few km of here. Our wine too is either made from our own grapes or bought locally. We are really working to reduce our food and drink miles – just to see what is possible. I now have the opportunity to work with people experienced in growing cereals, but my needs a not that great. I'd probably start by aiming for a harvest of 50-100kg. I imagine a few kg of seed malt would be enough.)

Anyone?

Thanks,

Steve