Chiller design

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

leondz

Regular.
Reaction score
I'm planning something really similar to MD's chiller:
DSCF0029-1.jpg

I'll use two coils of 10mm microbore, set up like this - not being a plumber I can't help but think that this design would lead to a higher pressure in the inner coil, seeing as it's straight over the tee from the water inlet - would that cause any problems? Anyway it looks like a really sound design for some rapid cooling.

However this idea, to me, seems unusual - http://www.instructables.com/id/S1N2BF3FYTCMAXR/
FWTILALFZWXOZPP.MEDIUM.jpg

Making a counterflow but using a cooler box to contain the surrounding cold material. Surely you want as much heat dissipation as possible, not to retain all the heat absorbed from wort? Might be a good idea if the ambient temperature is over 30 I suppose - anyone care to correct my physics?

Taking lessons from a childhood visit to Hinckley Point, I was thinking of going with (eventually) a chiller that took water via a pump from the bottom of an open container, and sprayed warmed water back into the top of the container, thus allowing air cooling and massively shrinking water usage. Could that work?

Thanks for looking!

Hi Leon
My cooler brings 25ltr from boiling to 25c in 15 mins haven't noticed any temp differences between outputs from each coil.
The water that comes out of the chiller is very warm and I think you would need something like a 200ltr barrel for you to recirc the water without it getting warm. Air cooling won't work for the start of chilling the water is just too warm hence I think you'd need a larger body of water to stop it heating up so quick.