Any advice/ideas for more advanced brews?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rbgd99

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am fairly new to homebrew but have got really into it very quickly. I am currently on my 5th kit and have been really pleased with the results. However, I am now wanting to challenge myself more and am wondering what to try next and so wondered if anyone had any advice on how best to proceed.

I have limited facilities available and so do not want to venture into all grain just yet. I have heard about grain steeping, mini-mash and partial mash but not quite sure where to start.

I want to start developing my own recipes, rather than simply adding water to kits.
Initially, for simplicity I like the idea of augmenting kits in some way to customise the flavour, but not sure where to start.

I welcome any advice or ideas on what step to take next to add complexity to my brews.

At this stage, I am basically just looking for ideas so am keen to hear others' experience.

Many thanks!

I tried the link above, tried it a 2nd time afree making some mistakes and just bought a peco boiler for biab...

Before that I tweaked a scottish heavy kit with some treacle and a dry hop and was very tempted by others cooper stout additions (have a search, there's loads) or the coopers 3 can Russian imperial stout...

Good luck with whatever you try.

I'm obviously going to agree with Glentoran but a stepping stone would be to use very bland pale kits and adapt them with steeping grains and hops. You can convert a bland kit into virtually anything, bitter, brown ale, Porter, stout etc. And you learn about grains and hops and make much better beer than a kit will usually provide.

Before that I tweaked a scottish heavy kit with some treacle and a dry hop
Hi!