1st attempt at growing hops

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dan125

BIAB brewer
Reaction score
Inspired by the hop growing exploits of other forumites I wanted to give it a go this year and thought it might be interesting to start a thread showing progress, and give more seasoned growers a chance to chip in with some advice when I make the expected mistakes, as I'm not an expert gardener by any means.

I took delivery of a healthy looking cascade rhizome about a month ago from Smiddylad for a bargain price :hat: and as recommended have started it off indoors in a pot. It broke the surface a couple of weeks ago and since has gone from this;

To this

I'm in Kent so hopefully have a decent climate for hop growing, and I've had the pot outside during the day during the recent mild/sunny-ish spell.

The only space I've got to grow it is probably too small as the bed is only about 2ft wide, but I've dug it over, weeded and added some compost -

And I'm planning to train it along the fence, where there is plenty of space;

So the first big dilemma is - when to plant out?
Not for a while I know, but its growing pretty quickly!

:cheers:

Excellent, I have three rhizomes coming in the post
EKG
Cobb
Fuggles

I am just going to stick them straight in the ground and see what happens. Lots of powdery mildew here so they might just keel over and die ... £28 for the three rhizomes, so it will not be fun if they don't grow ... but it's got to be better than putting money on the horsies.

�£28 for the three rhizomes, so it will not be fun if they don't grow ... but it's got to be better than putting money on the horsies.

Ha, you're right there. I think aphids will be my problem if the dogs don't dig it up within half an hour of planting :lol:

Last edited: