LHBS closing down :(

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

honeymonster

Reaction score
I'm more than a little bit gutted to see a message on facebook that my LHBS is having a closing down sale:(

It's only been open about a year and a half but it's where I've been buying all my brew kits/WOW supplies since I started brewing.

If I'm totally honest it has gone a bit down hill in the 2 or 3 months, shelves becoming emptier and emptier and existing stock spreading out rather than new stuff appearing, which is why this doesn't really come as a surprise. I did have quite a long conversation with my wife a few days ago, after we'd last been in, about the place, the way it was starting to look and a few of the things I reckoned they could do to drum up a bit more business. Things like trying to get a homebrew club going, bottle swaps or even brewing demos might have helped get some more folk interested. Still sad to see it go though.

I'm just gonna have to start planning my brews a bit further in advance so I can order in bulk and cut down on the postage.

That's a shame, must be really hard to compete with the online sellers and make a profit these days...I think the hobby is growing though but we all try for the best price don't we??

That's a shame, must be really hard to compete with the online sellers and make a profit these days...I think the hobby is growing though but we all try for the best price don't we??

Yeah, it must have been a nightmare to try and compete on price alone.

I did a bunch of coopers kits when I started and I did always try to buy them from there even though they were a little more expensive than my local Tesco but it seems even they have have stopped doing the homebrew stuff now.