Help With Port

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

patientheron

Reaction score
My recipe for Blackberry & Elderberry Port (based around JK & CJJB)

1.4Kg Elderberries
2Kg Blackberries
1.6Kg Sugar
1 tsp Pectolase
Lalvin EC-1118 + Nutrient
Water to one gallon (turns out there's 6 Litres :? )

I've had this fermenting on the pulp for 5 days and just strained everything into a DJ tonight. I gave up trying to take a hydrometer reading at the beginning because I couldn't figure if there was a reliable way to do so with all the berries in the must :wha: Yes, I'm an amateur.

Anyway, I've taken one now and it's 1.020. Using various sugar content tables I've estimated the OG as about 1.128 (all the sugar in one go, sorry :nono: ). Can anyone help with my calculations or next steps? If my OG estimate is right then that seems like a very, very quick time for such a large drop in gravity :hmm: Help!

p.s. My plan was to add red grape concentrate after fermentation and fortify with a blackberry brandy I have infusing at the moment.

:hat:

back in the summer my must would drop about 30 points a day

if the conditions are right it is feasible to drop 100 points in 5 days

you need about 6lb or 3kg of fruit for port

so looks like you are in the right place :thumb:

just remember you can make a wine from the pulp...
so don't throw it away!

I made up my first Blackberry & Elderberry wine this time last year based on this recipe ;- http://www.burfordhopsandvines.co.uk/page.asp?id=70 used 1kg blackberries, 1 kg elderberries, 1.25 kg sugar, half litre red grape juice.

Left it to bulk mature in the DJ for 11 months then bottled, I've no SG readings however had a small glass sample at the bottling stage and IMO this is closer to a port rather than a wine, very promising though! Planning to leave 'till Xmas before opening a bottle.