Absolute beginner

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ian1764

Reaction score
Hello Iam an absolute beginner so just browsing to find out the best stuff to buy to make beer so as not to make too many purchases then find out I should have spent a bit more initially and saved some money.

any advice would be appreciated

Ian

Hi Ian,

Couple of "How to" guides in my sig for kit brewing and All Grain "Brew in a Bag" style which delve a little into equipment. If you are thinking full on 3 vessel All Grain then there are a few more how to guides kicking around too. :thumb:

Hi Ian ...if you want to dip your toe in...just get a 2 can beer kit ( any type youfancy ) buy a 23 litre plastic bucket, and follow the instructions exept the times allways give your brew at least 10 days.

well yes you do need a bit more equipment than that.....but after 10 days of perfect fermentation and with 40 pints of soon to be great ale sat in your first bucket buy another bucket.syphon,bottles,caps and capper will not seem too hurtfull....... :grin: :grin:

ian1764 said:
Hello I am an absolute beginner so just browsing to find out the best stuff to buy to make beer so as not to make too many purchases then find out I should have spent a bit more initially and saved some money.

Still relatively new myself . . . one of the nice things about brewing is that you can start small, and add equipment as you go. I wondered around the brewing isle, totally mystified, until someone suggested I buy a starter kit from the range.
For £20, the kit contained :-
  • 1 x 23L brewing bucket (no tap or air lock)[/*:m:28gajtrt]
  • 1 x LCD thermometer strip[/*:m:28gajtrt]
  • 1 x mixing paddle (plastic)[/*:m:28gajtrt]
  • 1 x standard syphon kit[/*:m:28gajtrt]
  • 1 x 100g "sterilizer" sachet (sodium percarbonate)[/*:m:28gajtrt]