Milestone Crusader fruit beer mod.

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aethelstan

Reaction score
I have a milestone crusader kit which was recommended at my local hbs as something that is close to Wychwoods Wychcraft. My better half loves Wychcraft, which is labeled as a blonde beer, but it seems nigh on impossible to buy. I am planning on brewing 20 pints as per the instructions using one tin of extract. The other tin I want to experiment as a fruit beer because my better half wants a cherry fruit beer. Being a beginner, I would like to run this past some more experienced brewers for feedback and suggestions :)

I would start with 2 x 400g of frozen cherries from Sainsbury's and cover them in the fermenter with 1 gallon of boiling water and add pectolase, leaving sealed for 24 hours. Then I would add the tin of extract and make up to 18 pints, and pitch ale yeast. The reason I would go to 18, rather than 20 would be to get a slight boost to the hoppiness to balance with the cherry. Once it has fermented out, should I use finings, or just prime and bottle?

If anything seems amiss with my plan, please let me know :)

Thanks

I would stick to brewing the kit properly with both tins for 40 pints and buy a commercial fruit beer kit or buy another cheap one can kit and make that a fruit beer instead. :cheers:

I'm still very much a newbie, but my first thought would be to add cherry flavourings.

Cherry.jpg

Why would you suggest using a cheaper kit for a fruit beer? Being a true noob at this, I like to know why things are suggested so I can learn :)

Good idea about the cherry flavouring, is that the stuff used for flavouring neutral spirits?

Aethelstan said:
Why would you suggest using a cheaper kit for a fruit beer? Being a true noob at this, I like to know why things are suggested so I can learn :)