HBC American Amber Ale Extract kit

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dads_Ale

Crafty Brewer
Supporting Member
Reaction score
This is the HBC extract kit I won in the recent raffle

DSCF5162.jpg

All ingredients nicely packaged including grain and hops. Instructions look easy to follow which is good news as I have never done an extract brew before.

Hope to start this off at the weekend so will keep you all posted.

Got round to brewing this one up yesterday.

First thing I noticed is that it was American Brown Ale not Amber as the title of this thread :oops:

Anyway all the kit contents laid out and instructions read. Seemed fairly simple.
DSCF5163.jpg

Ingredients: 2 x 1.5kg Light Malt Extract. Grain: Crystal Malt, two types, Chocolate malt. Hops: Bravo, Cascade, Columbus. 1 Whirlfloc Tablet. 1 x 11g sachet Ale Yeast. 1 Muslin bag. Full instructions

Stockpot pressed into service to use for the grain mash (30mins)

DSCF5165.jpg

DSCF5166.jpg

I used my HLT to pre heat all of the water (26lts) and soaked the extract cans in hot water to make them a bit more runny.
The runnings from the mash, extract and pre-heated water were all added to the boiler. Extract cans rinsed out to get out every last drop of sticky goo. Ended up with 28lts in the boiler.

A 60 minute boil with hops being added at the required intervals.
Once boil finished the wort was dropped into the fermenter via my counter flow chiller. Nice and dark.

DSCF5169.jpg

DSCF5174.jpg

Ended up with about 25lts in FV at an OG of 1046. Well happy with that.

e0226856-19b1-4efc-afe7-bf9d28202add.jpg

Overall this was a bit less time consuming than a full AG brew and you could probably get away with a bit less kit. All went as it should an I am looking forward to try the finished beer and see how it compares with a full AG brew.

Sounds tasty.