mini corny kegs with regulators and CO2 capsules

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Braufather

Landlord.
Reaction score
Being fed up with bottling 40 bottles I was considering mini kegs as thought corny kegs a step to far at the moment.... but then came across these.

https://www.themaltmiller.co.uk/index.php?_a=viewProd&productId=768

does anyone use them and can you carbonate via the capsules( expensive no doubt). it does look better than a minikeg though and means good carbonation levels.

could you maybe use a bottle of CO2 to force carb then use the capsules to maintain pressure making it mobile? and also allowing different pressures on different kegs?

i would intend to bottle half and put half in one of these. i have little or no knowledge about corny kegs so please excuse any stupid questions!

Firstly the only stupid questions are the ones you don't ask :)

I have a full corny set up (kegerator and storage fridge) but also have some 4 litre growlers that I use the mini regulator and 16oz cartridges to dispense (they are carbed using large CO2 bottle).

This method of dispense works well and is pretty mobile. One cartridge will dispense the full 4 litre with a little bit of gas left over.

They would work on a corny but you would need a couple more cartridges because of the extra volume.

I reckon it would take a few of cartridges to force carb a corny. (less for the 10litre version).

I have adapted a Midget Widget cylinder (Sodastream) for portable dispense which also works well.

DSCF6063.jpg

IMG_0845.jpg

I use the little 9L kegs. i started off using sodastream bottle with an adaptor and regulator. force carbing will use a reasonable amount of co2, so force carbing with the little bulbs would be really expensive way of doing it. sodastream bottles are about £12 a refill.