Pressure Gauge for King Keg

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Job

Reaction score
Hi all, my first post and I am new to brewing.

I have been investigating putting pressure gauges on king keg barrels following advice from this forum which states it is important to ensure positive (CO2) pressure at all times in the barrel during conditioning and consuming.

I had a look at the various custom built options online which looked expensive and all seemed to be a bit crude (PTFE tape, large fittings, mutliple connections, etc.).

I have subsequently had a play around with various fittings from ebay in order to achieve a permanent, low cost pressure gauge in a king keg lid and have succeeded.

The main points to remeber are the different fittings and how they work, e.g.:

BSPP (British Standard Pipe - Parrallel)
BSPT (British Standard Pipe - Tapered)
NPT (National Pipe Thread)

The main thing to take away is that NPT will not form a seal with BSPP or BSPT without PTFE (as the thread shape is not compatible). A lot of the barrel gauges available seem to have NPT fittings going into BSPP fittings and subsequently a lot of PTFE tape.

Also worth noting is that BSPT will fit into a BSPP AND a BSPT fitting and create a seal (two turns, dont overtighten, etc.)

Thus the only components required to add a pressure gauge to a king keg (or any other) barrel is a BSPT pressure gauge and a BSPP or BSPT 'bulkhead fitting'.

e.g. from ebay:

Pressure Gauge 50mm Dial 1/8 BSPT Vertical 15 PSI
Nickel Plated Brass BSP Bulkhead Fitting (1/8)

That is GBP6.95 + GBP3.12 = GBP10.07 delivered at time of writing

The 1/8" fittings obviosuly require a smaller hole - it can be done with 1/4 gauge and bulkhead fitting etc.

Also needed is a washer - a spare washer from an S30 fitting will work, or:
10 x S30 CO2 homebrew Injection Valve Washers