Reducing volume - Greg Hughes recipes

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alimac019

Reaction score
Hi guys!

I am very new to the home brewing game, only done a few kit brews so far, and I am looking to move on malt-extract brewing for my next brew.

As I know there is a lot of margin for error when starting out, I want to do small volume malt-extract brews to begin with while I am experimenting, that way I won't blow so much cash on batches that could go **** up quite easily.

I have been using Greg Hughes' Home Brew Beer book religiously and I plan to try brewing his Cascade Single Hop next.

His recipes are for 27 litres, but he mentions reducing it to 10 litres for the smaller batches and dropping from 3kg of dried malt extract to just 1kg.

My question is, do you also have to reduce the amount of hops, steeped grains and yeast used, and is there a formula for working out the quantities? For example, making 27 litres the recipe states to use 144g of Cascade, would that reduce for 10 litres?

I know he mentions that one pack of yeast is usually enough for 23 litres, so it makes sense that things will need to be reduced.

Would appreciate your tips!

Thanks!

Yes you will need to reduce all the ingredients for a small brew. Don't reduce the timings though...............

All I did for my smaller brew was make a simple spreadsheet that calculates all the variations of ingredients.

You can see it here on my first Ag brew that was a GH recipe scaled down to 8 litres. http://www.thehomebrewforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=63111

Hope this helps and good luck with your brew.

Jas

Get yourself some software like brewmate/brewers friend or beer smith ect.. pump the recipe in.. and then you can scale it down as it suits you

I think having software is very very useful if you plan to extract or all grain brew.