Yest Stalled i think.....

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yelsmirgd

Reaction score
Hi guys
I am hoping someone can help me. I brewed a pumpkin ale 12 days ago and used safale US05 which i have never used before. the yeast was pitched at a gravity of 1.051 and was doing well up until about 3 days ago when it seemed to have stopped. it has had the same gravity for the last three days at 1.021. what i want to know is has the yeast finished fermenting or stalled. i want to bottle condition but i am scared that it will blow up the bottles if there are a lot of unfermented sugars. any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi guys
I am hoping someone can help me. I brewed a pumpkin ale 12 days ago and used safale US05 which i have never used before. the yeast was pitched at a gravity of 1.051 and was doing well up until about 3 days ago when it seemed to have stopped. it has had the same gravity for the last three days at 1.021. what i want to know is has the yeast finished fermenting or stalled. i want to bottle condition but i am scared that it will blow up the bottles if there are a lot of unfermented sugars. any help would be greatly appreciated.

US 05 is not known for stalling at 1.020 or so, and despite being a slow-ish starter on fermenting, will usually finish well within 9 days for its initial ferment. It also attenuates well, so I see the initial problem, unless you are fermenting at very low temperatures for a centrally heated house, as verifying the FG reading.

I would suggest that you do a hydrometer reading as follows:

1. Take the sample for the reading.
2. Shake sample until most of the gas has been expelled.
3. Wait until all the foam has gone from the sample.
4. Repeat steps 2 and 3.
5. Take new reading and report back.