Brewferm Abdij fermentation

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aleik

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a novice brewer on my 2nd brew. I've followed the instructions to the letter for the Abdij, and now at the stage of letting the bottles mature for a number of weeks or even months, after having achieved the correct final gravity, with 2nd fermentation complete ("keep in a warm place" I interpreted as 18-19° - I didn't want to overexcite the bottles and fall foul of a few explosions).

I opened a bottle to check for carbonation, which was good. Tastes fine. Nice, in fact. But the ABV tastes a lot more like a 5.8-6.0, certainly not 8.0. Will this resolve itself over the maturation period, or do I need to warm them for another week or so? The obvious concern is that the yeast is now done and dusted, as they've been at 11° for a week.

Thanks.

Hi,

I'm a novice brewer on my 2nd brew. I've followed the instructions to the letter for the Abdij, and now at the stage of letting the bottles mature for a number of weeks or even months, after having achieved the correct final gravity, with 2nd fermentation complete ("keep in a warm place" I interpreted as 18-19° - I didn't want to overexcite the bottles and fall foul of a few explosions).

I opened a bottle to check for carbonation, which was good. Tastes fine. Nice, in fact. But the ABV tastes a lot more like a 5.8-6.0, certainly not 8.0. Will this resolve itself over the maturation period, or do I need to warm them for another week or so? The obvious concern is that the yeast is now done and dusted, as they've been at 11° for a week.

Thanks.

If your final gravity is as suggested in the kit instructions, then that is basically that. There are no more uncertainties in a kit brew. It is what the stated ABV on the can said it would be, given that the final SG reading is correct.