A liquid diet....with a difference

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewbob

Regular.
Reaction score
Just thought I'd share this with you. Since I started brewing again and since I finished my dryathalon in January I've really been kicking the back-end out of it. I've got myself a big kettle BBQ and cooked some big joints of VERY tasty meat, I've been necking my brews, and its all coming to a head.

This last weekend I went to a family wedding, and I decided that after I would have a little detox to get myself back in order.

Recently I watched a documentary 'Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead' about a very big American who changed his, and others life by juice fasting. I have fasted before with no ill effects (in fact I credit it with the birth of my daughter, but then the story gets convoluted), but I have never done a juice fast. I looked about and found this guy and his forum, http://www.justonjuice.com/2-week-juice-fast-plan/ so I'm currently on day 2 of a 14 day juice fast. Bearing in mind the build up I had, in the week before I slow-cooked a pork shoulder on the BBQ, had Venison Wellington, fried breakfasts, steak'n'kidney puds, fish'n'chips, full-on curry from a Yorkshire curry house, full-on roast beef dinner with all the trimmings, plus lashings of beer, wine, rum and brandy, it was the worst prep to be had before a fast, I'm not doing too bad. Monday I was poorly/hungover but I made it through, I even went swimming! Today has been better. The best thing about this fast is the variety you can have. I really love my juices and you can put just about anything you wish into them as long as you try to keep to a 80/20 split with veg being the greater.