Why I can't drink craft beer anymore.

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Budgie

Regular.
Reaction score
So, funny story. I'm a musician and was lucky enough on Saturday night to be playing a wedding in a brewery. Best job in the world and that...

As is the way with weddings everything was running behind so we decided to hit the bar in the meantime. I've been to this brewery a few times before and they do some really cracking beers. I opted for a lemon balm and Rosemary saison, which was delicious. Until the anaphylactic shock kicked in. After 3 or 4 sips I started getting some chest tightness then 15 mins later I was on a hospital trolley with wires all over me, an oxygen mask and a drop in my arm. I didn't even make the first dance! :doh:

Luckily the brewery was only 5 mins from the nearest hospital. Another 30 mins or so would have been a VERY different outcome. They finally let me out around midnight but my heart rate didn't drop back under 100 for another 24hrs or so.

The brewery were kind enough to send me a full ingredients list and there's nothing there that stands out as a possibility. I know I'm allergic to sulphites (I have to use bottled water for my brews as I can't go near campden tablets). I also avoid all wine and cider for the same reason. I've had a couple of reactions to craft beers in the past, but nothing in inhaler hasn't sorted out.

So, until further investigation is done, I'm sticking to Guinness as I might not be so lucky next time!

So, funny story. I'm a musician and was lucky enough on Saturday night to be playing a wedding in a brewery. Best job in the world and that...