Stuck co2 bottle

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Braufather

Landlord.
Reaction score
I am new to kegging and had 1.3 kg co2 bottle arrive a couple of weeks ago. Set it up with a quality Italian regulator to purge and carbonate a krolsch in a 19 litre corny.

Went well and the krolsch carbonated well, but I have two issues.

1) after dispensing a few pints the gas appears to have run out with the regulator showing co2 empty and the other dial showing zero psi. It was a full bottle so should be enough to carb and dispense 6 kegs at least.

I also checked fully for leaks at the begging before carbonating with special spray and found none. Also as the keg carbonated well and quickly i imagine that makes a leak unlikely. I think there may be gas still in bottle and the problem could be with regulator.

2) to check above I wanted to remove the co2 bottle but first when trying to close it to switch co2 off, I found it was completely stuck, it won’t turn either way.

I left it out in the hall to warm up overnight and tried again today but it’s stuck solid still. Has anyone experienced this issue? How was it resolved?

Cheers.

It sounds like you opened the cylinder needle valve all the way to the stop and left it in that position. The best way to open any gas cylinder is to open it fully to the stop and then close it half a turn, that way anyone can tell if it’s open or closed as there’s always a little movement on the valve. If your sure it’s open then try a wrench on the handle but don’t put too much pressure on it as you could damage the valve. If you look under the valve handle you might be able to tell if it’s open with the amount of spindle showing under the valve handle. Either way be careful with any gas cylinder, if in doubt vent it all off remove the regulator and get a new one [emoji106]