Growing a yeast starter to make more than one brew?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yenren

Reaction score
Hi guys I am new to brewing. I have do a little it of research and not found an answer. My question is can i take a dry yeast package from a Bulldog Triple Tykes kit and make a starter and then take an amount of that starter to make a gallon brew (Im think a rosemary and bay Gruit ale) and then grow the original starter to use in the kit.
As far a ingredients go I have dry yeast as above, liquid barley malt extract or regular sugar(as feed) I also have 23 liters of buldog hammer of thor on the brew for 3 days (possble as a medium).

Hi guys I am new to brewing. I have do a little it of research and not found an answer. My question is can i take a dry yeast package from a Bulldog Triple Tykes kit and make a starter and then take an amount of that starter to make a gallon brew (Im think a rosemary and bay Gruit ale) and then grow the original starter to use in the kit.
As far a ingredients go I have dry yeast as above, liquid barley malt extract or regular sugar(as feed) I also have 23 liters of buldog hammer of thor on the brew for 3 days (possble as a medium).

I've just built my own stir plate and did my first proper starter this weekend so I'm no expert but...

Provided you top the starter up with more (pre-boiled) water as well as giving them some sugar / DME then I can't see any reason you can't 'borrow' some yeast for a small batch and build it back up for a larger batch.

Wanting to give this a go myself. Building a stir plate atm. If I want enough yeast for two brews (21L, OG~1050) how big a starter would I need to make to split? And can I just pitch half and refrigerate half?

Cheers