Summer brewing?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thegoatboy

Reaction score
Hello,

Quick question about summer brewing.

What's the deal eh?

I don't have a fridge, so all my beer has to sit in the shed post fermentation.

Is this an issue? The instructions I have say 6 weeks at 12 degrees to condition.

For summer brewing I use high heat tolerance yeasts and when it comes to conditioning, as i don't have a fridge to condition in I do end up with cloudy beer. In the middle of summer the shed never gets low enough to clear it, but it's not an issue it still tastes the same just not as pretty in the glass.

Good enough for me.

What's the method for replacing recpie yeast for high tolerance yeast?

I started brewing around last May. As I remember it was quite warm so fermentation temperature was an issue. .my first brews were OK. Storage wise they were left on the floor in my wooden shed. I was quite surprised how cool they were given the day time temps of over 26°c. Must have been something to do with the ground conduction of heat....maybe.
Best get a fridge....

Good enough for me.

What's the method for replacing recpie yeast for high tolerance yeast?

It's like for like. Mangrove Jacks Workhorse (up to 32C, although it's now discontinued you can still buy it from Get er Brewed), Mauribrew 514 English Ale (up to 32C), Omega hot head (at least 32C perhaps hotter)

You could also brew saisons or belgian beers during the summer as the yeast used prefers temps

I'd love a beer fridge, but there isn't much room for it.

The missus thinks I'm Walter white already with all the tubes and plastic buckets about

Can be rocking the cradle anymore with trying to get a fridge!