Register Now!
The HomeBrew Forum > General Discussion > The Snug > AnyFord Mechanics?

Help Support The Homebrew Forum by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21-11-2017, 11:02 PM   #1
aamcle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Newton-le-Willows
Posts: 759
Liked 92 Times on 71 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default AnyFord Mechanics?

My Mondeo built 2013 has one of these:-



How do I update the map and do I really need to enter a code if I change the battery?
Is there a SD card and if so were is it?

Many Thanks. aamcle
aamcle is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2017, 04:04 PM   #2
Gunge
Senior Member
 
Gunge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 1,802
Liked 926 Times on 657 Posts
Likes Given: 1041

Default

Don't know about updating the map but isn't there a device you can plug into the cig lighter which maintains ECU memory etc etc whilst the battery is disconnected? Is it even necessary? I put a new battery in my Mazda 6 at the weekend without any such precautions, and all that happened was the trip meter reset to '0' and I had to reset the clock.
Gunge is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2017, 04:19 PM   #3
Dexter101
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 216
Liked 88 Times on 67 Posts
Likes Given: 226

Default

No idea on the maps and also hopefully someone can help properly but with the Battery, a lot of cars use a radio code so when the stereo is removed (disconnected from the battery, so removing the battery does the same thing) you have to enter the security code for it to work when reconnected. Its a bit of a pain if you don't have the code as dealers tend to charge a fair bit for a new code.
__________________
Current beverages

Wines
Forum Rose- primary fermenting- 30th August 2017
Matcha Green Tea- primary fermenting- 1st September 2017
Coffee Port- Planning
Ginger- Planning


Beers
Citra Smash- planning
Proper Job Clone- Fermenting- 16th October 2017
Doom Bar Clone- Fermenting- 8th October 2017
Liquorice Saison- Planning
Ella Pale Ale- Drinking

My food blog can be read- www.traveleatsurf.com
Dexter101 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2017, 04:25 PM   #4
Gunge
Senior Member
 
Gunge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 1,802
Liked 926 Times on 657 Posts
Likes Given: 1041

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dexter101 View Post
No idea on the maps and also hopefully someone can help properly but with the Battery, a lot of cars use a radio code so when the stereo is removed (disconnected from the battery, so removing the battery does the same thing) you have to enter the security code for it to work when reconnected. Its a bit of a pain if you don't have the code as dealers tend to charge a fair bit for a new code.
Ye I was worried that the radio wouldn't work when I swapped the battery but it was fine, despite being disconnected for 10 minutes or so. I do have the code but didn't fancy messing about - I was lucky maybe.
Gunge is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2017, 05:15 PM   #5
stigman
Senior Member
 
stigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: glossop Derbyshire
Posts: 388
Liked 160 Times on 111 Posts
Likes Given: 30

Default

If you can get the thing out there will be a code on it somewhere. Have a Google and you can find all the codes to reset after battery swap. Did this on my focus a while ago
stigman is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2017, 06:46 PM   #6
Frogbrew
Senior Member
 
Frogbrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 469
Liked 91 Times on 76 Posts
Likes Given: 45

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stigman View Post
If you can get the thing out there will be a code on it somewhere. Have a Google and you can find all the codes to reset after battery swap. Did this on my focus a while ago
Interesting, defeats the object of a security code if it works.
Frogbrew is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2017, 07:44 PM   #7
Clint
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: North Wales
Posts: 3,002
Liked 1123 Times on 831 Posts
Likes Given: 270

Default

Google it...vids on YouTube. ...
Clint is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 10:07 AM   #8
Monkey
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 30
Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I have the 2009 version of this, i think its called a Nav FX or something like that. Mine is DVD based system, but I'm pretty sure yours must be the later SD one.
On mine, you pull the volume nob off (N on the diagram) and then pull the plate off that sits behind it. then you can see a DVD slot, just like the CD one at the top. You have to go into the menu settings to eject it, but its pretty easy. I imagine yours will have a SD slot in the same place. Simply take it out, plug it into your computer and find/buy the maps. should be easy to find using your friend google.
Monkey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 12:09 PM   #9
aamcle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Newton-le-Willows
Posts: 759
Liked 92 Times on 71 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

mine has a sd card hidden away, I was able to get a new one and fit it.


Many Thanks. aamcle
aamcle is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any Ford mechanics? hairybiker The Snug 11 28-12-2013 02:34 PM
Any mechanics or auto electricians presnt Vossy1 The Snug 7 19-08-2013 05:12 PM
Any mechanics in? hairybiker The Snug 18 31-05-2013 07:27 PM
Any Mechanics about?? CptnCrackoff The Snug 27 06-07-2010 10:33 AM

Newest Threads