To Wyeast or not to Wyeast that is the question....

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Englishmans Fox

Reaction score
Hey everyone,
Firstly I just want to say I'm new to brewing and I really love the friendliness and helpfulness of everyone on this site. It's so great to have a place where you can get decent, true advice. I'm thinking about starting my own micro brewery and think I have everything I need malt and hop wise but I was wondering about yeast. Is there a big difference between dried yeast and already active yeast? Should I make a starter and if so how? I've seen videos that use Wyeast which you seem to active in the packet. The packet then swells and you add direct to the fermenter. Is this a good brand? Also how can you find out how much yeast to add? I have a three tiered gravity fed system that is 70L.

Cheers for the help guys

I have used Wyeast several times and have 100% success with them. I also reused the yeast with no problems.I would say though that if you were going to use something like their American Ale yeast then it is apparently the same as safale us-05 dried yeast, so not really much point. I would use it if you have something special in mind. Last year I used their French Saison 3711 several times because I had no temperature control and it was during the summer and the flat was hot and that yeast is designed to ferment at higher temperatures. According to wyeast their Smack-pack is designed for 5 gallons say I would say 3 packs should do it. Lots of details on their website here http://www.wyeastlab.com/hb_productdetail.cfm?ProductID=16

Thanks mike77. So if I have a 70L system before I start making the wort and the mash, what would my yield of beer be? Would I have to put 3 smack packs of yeast in each fermenter?