An idiots guide to a cider kit - By an idiot.

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ScottM

Landlord.
Reaction score
This guide is for idiots written by an idiot. It assumes you know next to nothing about homebrewing or pretty much anything else. Requirements are that you have the eqiupment & ingredients listed (some optional) and you are allowed to handle ingredients and use the hob etc.

I'm going to go through the exact proceedure I used to make my last batch of homebrew cider. It was fantastic, for a kit, and blows your socks off. Please understand this is for complete beginners, has no complexities whatsoever and if followed might just get them into the hobby as they have made something drinkable.

Equipment:

I'm listing off what I used, some of it is optional but I would recommend most of it.

2 25L+ Fermenting Vessels (FV). I use 2 buckets with lids with holes for bungs.
1 Airlock
1 Bung
1 Thermostatically controlled Immersion Heater (I need this given the climate up here, temps can be all over the place without it)
1 Spoon or paddle, for stirring.
1 Hydrometer - Up to yourself whether you want to use this or not, I wouldn't brew without one.
1 Strip Thermometer - I use these adhesive thermometers on the side of my FV, ideal for monitoring temps without disturbing anything.
1 Syphoning Kit - I recommend a bottling wand/stick as well. Get one of the kits with the rigid tubes and sediment catcher at the bottom.
40 pints worth of bottles - I use glass bottles so need a capper & caps. Plastic bottles generally come with caps. Can use a keg etc if you like.
1 Tub of Steriliser - I use VWP, I get 400g tubs as it gets used up faster than you would think.
A big pot (10L+ would be great)

Ingredients:

Magnum Apple Cider Kit
1kg Brewing Sugar
500g Cane Sugar for wort
200g cane sugar for priming
20L Bottled water (asda smart price, 17p for 2L)