Wilko's Sweet Newkie Brown

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ClownPrince

Regular.
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I gave this kit a go as my first attempt at homebrewing before christmas, following the provided instructions and using my less than adequate equipment and while I wasn't disappointed with the results (it at least resembled Newcastle Brown) I look back on it of an amateurish brew now.

So I'm going to be revisiting this kit when my next payday rolls around. My plan being to acquire some higher quality yeast and use two cans of kit with a jar of locally sourced honey and forgo the sugar/brew enhancer/spraymalt that I used first time around.

While I'm much more competent now than when I started brewing, this plan represents a significant leap in my development as a homebrewer, so I'll be keeping you all informed as to how it goes, but in the meantime if anyone wants to offer advice (particularly pertaining to which yeast to use and how to use the honey) it will be much appreciated.

I have one of these kits in the cupboard which I bought in the recent sale. I am planning on brewing short to 20 litres and using 500g dark spraymalt and 500g table sugar. Should turn out reasonable.

:pray: