Something gone wrong... help!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beerguy

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new to homebrewing and have just completed my first 2 beer making kits. However after leaving the beer in the pressure barrels for a few weeks, I tried pouring some out today through the taps and both of the taps are running very slow, and sometimes stop running completely, then a bubble will shift and some more will come out but hardly anything. Only one of the barrels has a gas canister attached as I completed the second barrel only about 2 weeks ago and thought I should let it settle before putting the gas in.

Also, the beer that I did get out of both barrels seems to be a little bit cloudy - is this normal for homebrew?

Cheers!

sounds to me like it has not carbed up fully and the glug will be it sucking air back through the tap to displace the beer which makes it more likely that it has not carbed up. What amount of sugar have you used to prime the barrel and yes it will be cloudy until it has had tilme to carb and all the yeast etc to drop out to the bottom ( the first few pint will generally always be cloudy as it has the dropout material in it)

Never used a pressure barrel but read alot of comments about them leaking. Have you tested for leaks?

What have you set the pressure to in the one with the gas canister? Did you prime the other one? What temp are they at?

It’s not conditioned and therefore not carbed up. Stick some CO2 in it as the bubble you mention is oxygen going in. Then you need to be patient and try again in a couple more weeks.

Welcome to the Forum. :thumb:

BE PATIENT.

Kit instructions are wildly optimistic so take your time with everything.

As a general rule I allow (as an absolute minimum):

o Two weeks for fermentation (and then do an SG to check that it has finished).