Looking for a boiler recommendation

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VinceVega

Reaction score
Hello All

I have been using the Brupaks electric boiler for three years.

Those of you used have it will know that the element is becomes tarnished quickly and needs to be thoroughly scrubbed and boiled in a vinegar solution regularly to prevent it cutting out at about 80 degrees. So I'm planning on keeping it for mashing and sparging only and getting a new boiler for the boil.

I'm looking for one that uses electricity to heat and crucially keeps the wort separate from the heating element. 30 to 50 litres would be fine.

When browsing boilers online, it is often difficult to confirm this. So I thought I would use my first post here to see what fellow brewers would recommend.

Thank you

I bought a 60 litre euro bucket from the Copper Kettle and they fitted two heating elements. Used it for two years and could not be happier. No separation of hops. But I use a bazooka filter which works fine. I give the elements a brief scrub each use. No cutting out.

I brew about 25l and am glad of the 60l at hot break. Never had a boil over but it has been close.

Would you consider making an electric boiler by fitting an element to a 33L FV? It's very cheap and simple to do. It doesn't separate the wort from the element but I've been using this for about 50 brews and as long as the element is cleaned after each brew it doesn't tarnish or blacken.

Ps. Another piece of advice, always take your uzi with you when you go to the loo.

Self building is good and cheap if you have the tools. I made quite a good one from a stock pot and two tesco value kettle elements. Later added thermometer and sight glass to it. Works really well. There are loads of guides to help.

Many others use commercial urns with hidden elements. Those can be good too although some need tweaks.