aquarium heater

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clarkeuk

Reaction score
hi all
whats your thoughts on an aquarium heater in the brew rather than in a tank of water with the brew sitting in it as long as properly sanitized I cannot see a problem but I am a complete newbi so sorry for any questions that sound stupid

I've thought about it but I worry that the contact area is really hot and will kill the yeast.
You have to maintain heat with a low watt heater.
Currently I use a small heating square that's used to keep your feet warm. 20 watt thing. But my STC-1000 is coming today so I'll wire up my space heater to it and set the room to 19 degrees. Towards the summer I'll get a used fridge or freezer and connect the STC to that to maintain even temp.
Another way is to put your fermenter in a larger bucket of water then put the aquarium heater in the water. It will balance the temp better.

Cheers japanbrew I ask because I did it with my first wine kit n not sure about the taste and have got a better (more expensive kit) to do now and don't want to waste it .thinking of different approach like an thermostatilly controlled space under the stairs

I've done it a few times brewing beer. The main disadvantage with the immersion method with beer brewing is you need to open the lid if you need to change the temperature. If you are happy with a static temperature or ok with potential exposure to nasties then it's fine.

I've used one in the past with no problems - even though it had only a crude thermostat (bi-metallic strip) which wasn't that good at maintaining a constant temperature. The only thing I didn't like was the cleaning and sterilising of the heater. I was never totally convinced that it was sterile, but then I never did have an infected brew when I used it.