Carbinating

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alsellers18

Reaction score
Hey so I'm new to homebrewing and I made a front porch rocker from a Midwest supply kit... I did everything to the "t" with the instructions and on bottling day I took the proper amount of water for priming solution, added the package that was given to me from the kit of priming sugar, and THEN brought it to a boil and boiled it for 8 min like the directions said... the directions weren't clear as to WHEN to add the sugar to the water... right away? When already brought to a boil? But I bottled the beer with the priming solution for almost 4 weeks now and 3 weeks of it the bottles were in my basement which hasn't gone below 60 and averages around 63 degrees and now the last week I brought it upstairs thinking it was too cold down there and yet it still is not carbonated one bit! Did I do something wrong? Any suggestions??? I have since brewed a hefeweizen brew and has been fermenting so far for about 1 week up stairs in 65-68 degree temperature... is it better to use the tablets when bottling or with a hefeweizen beer would the tablets create bottle bombs? Any suggestions would help. I did put the priming solution in the bottling bucket first and then racked the beer to get a consistent solution through the beer.

Awesome thanks for the advice and that calculator is great!!!!

I love the calculator. I had a couple of overprimed batches and a bottle bomb incident before I knew about carbonating properly (I assumed 1. That all beers needed a teaspoon of sugar, and 2. All the "teaspoons" in my house were "proper" 5g teaspoons).

Proper carbonation has helped my beers immensely!