Wilko's 30 bottle deep red Merlot Review

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gassman

Reaction score
I am not sure what Alstar will say about his but I am disappointed with mine compared to the more expensive kits I purchased elsewhere

I asked some advice a few times about this brew as it did not seem to start to ferment and was actually in the fv for over 3 weeks and not the 7 days or less stated on the can

I had to throw in more yeast after it did not start and more nutrient ( dont forget I am a complete novice so this is from a learner point of view) and even then it would start then stop then start again and with a constant temp of 22 degrees and 3 other brews fermenting strongly next to it.

Racked twice and two lots of finings added at different intervals and even put through a filter kit I would not say it has cleared to what I would expect and looks more plummy colour than what I thought it should be but going by the name of it then maybe it is supposed to be that way.

I tasted as it was bottling and seems ok for a cheapo but with all the messing racking etc it has gone from 30 bottle kit to a 21 bottle kit

All in all I will not bother again and will stick to the kits that cost more money

I have made this for the second time, and it is OK but still comes out looking like a Rosy, and not deep red as described. I thought I would try it again encase I had bought a wrongly labeled one. Do any kits come out like a proper dark red?

**muffti** said:
I have made this for the second time, and it is OK but still comes out looking like a Rosy, and not deep red as described. I thought I would try it again encase I had bought a wrongly labeled one. Do any kits come out like a proper dark red?

I made a Cellar 7 Cabernet Sauvignon and that turned out really dark and fruity like a true red wine.

Gassman said: