Low Mash Temp

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nicknacknoo

Reaction score
Hi there, i'd love some advice please.

I'm new to AG brewing on my 4th brew. The last one I fly sparged at 80 degrees but had trouble getting my grain bed into the 70 s.

So I'm thinking for my next brew to either fly sparge at a humongus temp (90 s) or add a kettle full of boiling water to my MT to bring the the bed temp up first, then fly sparge.

I'm new at this so I know it'll take a few more brews to get used to my equipment. But I'm lovin it, specially the drinking bit. The brews ive done so far taste wonderful but my efficiency is well low (in the 60s), but again I guess this will improve over time.

Cheers in advance for any advice, pointers etc.

Nick

Conditioning in bottles.........Kentish IPA, Leffe
Old speckeled Hen

Secondary Guiness
Planning Doombar

Hi!
I'm sure that wiser heads will advise you, but I understand that the purpose of fly sparging is to disturb the grain bed as little as possible, so adding a kettle of boiling water would not be conducive to this.
I assume that your difficulty in getting the grain bed into the 70s is an attempt to achieve a "mash out" temperature. Have you considered batch sparging?

Hi there, i'd love some advice please.

I'm new to AG brewing on my 4th brew. The last one I fly sparged at 80 degrees but had trouble getting my grain bed into the 70 s.

So I'm thinking for my next brew to either fly sparge at a humongus temp (90 s) or add a kettle full of boiling water to my MT to bring the the bed temp up first, then fly sparge.

I'm new at this so I know it'll take a few more brews to get used to my equipment. But I'm lovin it, specially the drinking bit. The brews ive done so far taste wonderful but my efficiency is well low (in the 60s), but again I guess this will improve over time.