Stalled Fermentation

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1CM69

Reaction score
I am new to brewing and am having a slight issue with my 1st brew.

It's a Youngs Lager.

The setup all went perfectly well and I used Brew Enhancer instead of Brewers sugar.

OG was spot on at 1042.

As of today it's been in the fermenter for 2 weeks and over the last 3 days I have had a constant reading of 1014.

The brew is supposed to be fermented in 4-6 days from start and is supposed to reach 1006 or below.

The fermenter has been stored in a stable temp of my airing cupboard at a constant temp of 21deg.

I have tried the swirl method to rouse the yeast but nothing.

I have some more yeast coming on the thinking that perhaps there was not enough to start with or that some May have been bad.

Any thoughts?

Regards..,

Kirk

It might be worth a gentle stir to bring some of the yeast back up from the bottom of the FV - gentle as in don't allow any air to mix up with the brew.

Most of the posts I've read say is best to leave it going for a good 3 weeks minimum to allow the yeast to clean up any undesirable by-products, so you've got a while left yet.

Thanks for the reply.

I have considered a gentle stir but really want to leave that as a last resort because of the risk.

I am going to leave it a while longer to see if it starts again.

In you opinion do you think putting extra yeast in is a good idea?