Why 23 litres? Can I brew less?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gyc

Reaction score
Hi all.

I'm an absolute beginner and I'm trying to learn a bit before my first brew.

All the kits I've found, all the ready-made malts and most recepies are aimed at brewing 23 litres (~6 us gallons, ~24 pints).
Is there a bio-chem-physical reason for that minimum amount of beer?
Can I try and only brew, say, 3 or 4 litres?

I've already noticed that - although the process is fairly simple - there are a number of details to pay attention to.
I'd hate to brew that much beer only to discover that I scr***d something in the process and have to throw it away. It would break my heart... not to mention the cost and the space it takes right at start, of course.

Am I being too careful?
Any suggestions?

It's simply because it's a convenient amount to brew. There's nothing stopping you brewing more or less. It's now easier because most homebrewing vessels are designed for 23/25l now.

Bear in mind that it won't necessarily make your brewday any quicker by brewing less.

Personally I think 3 or 4 litres would be to little and not worth the bother. 10l would be the minimum I'd consider. See Brewstew's attobrewery thread.

By the way, 23l is about 40 pints, not 24.

the smaller you go on brewing volumes, the more accurate with your ingredients you need to be.

at 10L, just a gram of hops out could change the whole flavour of the brew. for my atto brewery i intend on building purely for recipe experiments i'll be needing to invest in some scales accurate to 0.1 of a gram.

anything smaller than 10L i'm fairly sure the chemical and physical process needed from mashing wouldn't occur. for example when you sparge, the grain itself acts as a filter. the less of a filter you have (ie less grain) the more difficult it will be to filter out the debris and get a clear wort.