BIAB sparge?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StevieDS

Regular.
Reaction score
I was just wondering if anyone here who employs the BIAB method, as I do, does a sparge on their grain after removing the bag?
If so how exactly do they do it?
I seem to be getting a fairly poor 70% efficiency and wondered if a sparge would help.

I don't sparge but then again I'm new to it. I do a 90 minute mash followed by a mash out for 15 mins. Then I give the bag a really good squeeze. I use a pulley system to left the bag out. Is the low efficiency into boiler, fermenter or into packaging?

alymere said:
Is the low efficiency into boiler, fermenter or into packaging?

Good question, I'm not sure tbh. I use brew mate software and I'm able to work out efficiency from that. I think it's brewhouse efficiency tho I could be wrong.

I do MaxiBIAB. I mash over night with 20L of water then sparge by dunking the bag in a 19L pot with 10L of water that is @77°C for 10 minutes.
Looks like this and I get an efficiency of 80-85%
IMG_20130925_095406_092_zps775b9dc8.jpg

I don't think 70% is so bad. What's the difference in grain cost for a 5% increase compared to additional time/hot water/effort etc?
Or are you simply chasing figures?

I'm not very experianced but for my 1st and only brew I used aditional grain (calculated by BIABacus) and added plain water to the boil to reach my required volume. Ended up with a 67.5% effiency. Hopefuly my next batch will be better as I will be doing a full volume BIAB in a 40L Buffalo Boiler :D

anthonyUK said:
I don't think 70% is so bad. What's the difference in grain cost for a 5% increase compared to additional time/hot water/effort etc?