pc building

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

whitstella

Reaction score
Hi

I fancy trying to build myself a gaming pc but I don't know where to start. Been looking on Ethernet for answers but I just keep going from 1 site to another and getting nowhere. My budget is about £700 - £800 is it possible youngest a good 1 for that???? Any advice would be great thanks.

Steve

Hi Steve

I'm looking to do this myself and was pointed by local techy friend to Novotech. They sell barebones packs which have motherboard, processor and memory already fitted and tested for all budgets. Its a good place to start.

Pentium units are more expensive, while AMD are cheaper but run hotter so might need some more cooling. As you can tell I'm no expert but check out their site and let me know how you get on.

Maffa

I have done this for 20 years. Built about 50 PCs of differing specs.

The two tricky things are understanding the specs of individual components and understanding the sockets/slots/interfaces/buses/specs etc that make them compatible or not.

The best way to learn is to browse sites like ebuyer or overclockers and build PCs in the shopping cart. If there are specs you don't understand google them. When I started I had to use PC magazines and the endless pages of adverts.

Today, as mentioned the first thing you need to do is decide on AMD or Intel CPUs. There isn't much between them really, some pros and cons of each. Reading at least 3 different articles comparing them is a wise bet. Personally I like AMD, but that's just because I have had good success with them and don't see a reason to change.

You also need to decide now on "form factor", do you want a full sized easily expanded board or a micro-ATX or other special size for a smaller case or "cube" style. This will govern your case choice later.