First Extract Brew - Way to Amarillo - Timings & Lessons Learned

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Toffee

Regular.
Reaction score
(wrote this out a few weeks back but forgot to post)

OK, so I have been brewing now since Oct 2014. With a few kits under my belt, I decided to do my first extract.

As I have learned so much from this site I thought I would share what my brew morning looked like, and the lessons I learned from my first extract brew.

Equipment: Like I said, I already had a few kit brews completed. I bought the Coopers Home Brew kit last year, so had everything to do a kit. The only things I needed ontop were a large saucepan & a sieve.

I bought a 20L stockpot from Amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00BIYHI1G/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20

Bigger than I needed for this, but figured it might be useful if I go BIAB. I got the largest sieve I could find in Tesco (could do with bigger to be honest). I also bought a second FV to use as a bottling bucket, instead of bottle priming, and used this to store my water.

In the past I had never treated my tap water in any way, so decided to use the second FV to store all water used and to treat with half a campden tablet to remove any chlorine.

I opted for the "Way to Amarillo" extract pack from BrewUK:

http://www.brewuk.co.uk/amarillo-recipe-pack.html

recipe:
http://www.brewuk.co.uk/american-ipa

I mostly followed these instructions, with a couple of minor tweaks that seemed to make sense to me.

ingredients:
50grm Amarillo hops
3 x 1kg light dried malt extract
Safale US-05 Yeast

I drew out a rough schedule for the morning, and I am happy to say my actual timings were fairly close to what I predicted. I started to brew at 9am on Sat:

9:00 prepare! make up fresh starsan solution in 5L water container
wash and sterilize first and second FVs, & 3L jug