BIAB sg low???

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mr BR

Regular.
Reaction score
hi did a brew today with 3kg of lager malt, 3kg pale malt, mashed at 66 degrees for 60 mins, boiled for 60min ,took the sg 1034 ,does this sound about right as i was thinking it was a bit low ,did the recipe on brew smith and i think i have cocked it up somehow but cant think how, any help appreciated,thanks

Im fairly new to AG myself but that is def a bit low. You should have had around 1.060 with a 22.5 litre batch at those quantities. If you've got 1.034 that means you have a mash efficiency of less than 50% which is very low. Can't think why, if your mash temp was good :wha:

60 minute mash seems a little short. I thought 90 minutes was the minimum time. When I brew biab I mash fir 150 mins

150 mins really? Ive only done 1 biab but I only mashed for 60 mins and I used less grain than this and it give me og of 1.052. I'll maybe try 90 mins next time but I still think 1.034 is very low even for a 60 min mash.

Did you sparge the bag? I do biab with a 19l pan atm and i have to sparge the bag around 3 or 4 times with a ketlle of hot water to get near my taget

I'm fairly new to AG myself, but how much do you trust your thermometer? I had problems with my first two BIAB brews caused by a thermometer that was about 3 degrees out (high final gravity in my case).

What was brewlength and your predicted OG?
Does BIAB have horrible efficiency? I've never tried it.

Assuming a 23l brewlength 1034 is very low, I would guess at an expected OG in the region of 1060 for 6kg base malt and a 23l (5 UK gallon) brewlength. I normally mash for 90 mins but I really don't think that a 60 min mash would explain that kind of drop in efficiency.