Stuck fermentation?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gilly_willy

Reaction score
I started brewing a geordie winter warmer 10 days ago, OG of 1036, the last 3 days its been at 1010... I think the room the fermenter is in might have got down to 16 degrees, and there's no activity on the top of the brew... No bubbles etc.... the instructions do say to ferment at 20 degrees, I can't bottle til I'm down to 1005 for a few days, is there a way to get the yeast going again at all? Or can I bottle in a few days if in remains at 1010? I'm a bit stuck like the fermentation...

I have just started a similar post with nearly same question. I put a 16W sample underfloor heating tile under my fermentor and a jacket around the fermentor as well. Within an hour the activity has doubled although temperature still shows at 16 degs C. The stick on temperature strip is half way up and clearly the heater is at the bottom so likely it will take some time to show on the strip.

I have noticed the fermenting does produce heat so with the other brew on the go I have just put a body warmer on it, and will monitor to see if it produces enough heat without the heated tile.

After putting the heater under the slow brew the temperature has risen from 16 to 18 degs C and bubbles increased one every 60 seconds to one every 20 seconds.

The other brew in a earlier stage has risen in temperature just by putting a body warmer around it. Neither are sitting on the floor both on stools so ground is not taking the heat away.