ginger beer crystal malt recipe

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

old_git

Reaction score
Hi all,

Been wanting to replicate the sweetness in commercial ginger beers. Can't see a way to do this without pasturising batches and then sweetening followed by force carbonating. Well, I could add potassium sorbate at the desired sweetness but I'm not fond of adding preservatives to beer or wine.

My thoughts were, I might be able to leave some residual sweetness by steeping a fair amount of crystal malt in a pale malt wort. I was thinking of using a low-attenuative ale yeast to ferment out the wort and then hitting it with ginger extracts or flavouring nearer bottling time.

Anyone had any success brewing this way or any experience combining ginger to beer brewing?

Cheers,

OG

Hi old_git,

I wondered if you got anywhere with the malt in ginger beer?
I am new to brewing, have done a cider, lovely, and did some applejack.
Then I have just done a ginger beer with lemon (I love crabbies GB). It is ok but lacking something. It's not sweet and not much body to it. It is very nice with some dilute summer fruits in but on its own it's dry and bitter lemon. Not 100% I got this right, but my hydrometer said potential of 11% final reading said 0%
I also jacked the ginger beer, really strong alcohol, very nice though.

Any advice on keeping somes sweetness etc.

Hi DMc,

I haven't got around to making the ginger beer with malt yet (even after a year!) but to be fair have been very busy with all grain, wine and cider making. My next brew is a raspberry blonde ale using a couple of kilos of fresh raspberry from my friends garden. I just finished bottle conditioning a clone of zombie dust, totally tropical pale and a Perry, all of which are delicious.