All my AG brews are pants...

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

_jon_

Regular.
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

As I'm sure you'll know from some previous posts, some of my brews have gotten a little buggered up because I'm new to AG Brewing and it's a lot to remember to do, and get all the measurements and readings on target.

As such, all my AG Brews have been rubbish. I just threw away about 17L of my PIPA Clone, since it didn't taste great and I forced down about 9 pints of it at the weekend and felt that I could perform open heart surgery after... so I'm guessing the ABV is poor to say the least.

Then I kegged the Wheat beer I've made.. carbed it, and I have just tasted it and to say it's foul is an understatement.

My 2 questions relating to this are:

1.) Does anyone have a nice and simple, straight forward IPA Recipe using standard grains and hops? Something for me to brew which is easy to get right.

2.) How long should I really condition a beer? (I'm sure it's going to depend on which type of beer), but for example... the wheat beer was in the FV for about 16 days, then I put 30psi in it for 2 days, then took the pressure down to 10psi and poured a half. I didn't even taste it because it doesn't even smell very pleasant.. doesn't smell off and rank, just kinda smells a little like dirty washing up water. Should I be conditioning for longer?

If I've understood this right, you had it in the FV for 16 days, then transferred to a pressure barrel for 2 days at 30 psi, then dropped to 10 psi and drank it.

So you conditioned it for 2 days before drinking. I don't brew AG or use a pressure barrel, but that doesn't seem anywhere near long enough to me. I bottle, but I let them carb for two weeks and then condition for another two before cracking one open.