Complete Newbie from Grimsby

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GrimsbyR

Reaction score
Hi Everyone

As the title says I'm a complete newbie in the beer brewing world from Grimsby, looking for help and advice on starting up. I'm wanting to start brewing English mild, used to drink it years ago but ended up a lager lout (only joking about the lout) and want to start brewing my own to enjoy on cold evenings by the fire (must be getting old!) and for taking on the continent so suggestions on transportation by car over long distances would be helpful. Any tips would be greatly appreciated and if there's anyone local please say hi.

All the best

Kerry

welcome... its a great hobby whether brewing form kits, extract or all grain. Longest distance I've taken (bottled) beer is about 400 miles car-ferry-car to France...with no problems. I wouldn't leave it in the car for too much time if temperatures were in the high 20's 30's though.

Thanks for the welcome and the travel tips. I'll get my head around all the basics first, read plenty on here and watch some Youtube vids! I'm guessing get a beginners start up kit first and then progress?

Thanks for the welcome and the travel tips. I'll get my head around all the basics first, read plenty on here and watch some Youtube vids! I'm guessing get a beginners start up kit first and then progress?
Try this
Basic beginners guide to brewing your own beer from a kit - The HomeBrew Forum

Grimsby is blessed with a local home brew shop (LHBS) http://www.homebrewcentregy.com/ so it might be worth paying them a visit.

Finally this time of year it is important that you have a place warm enough to brew your beer, i.e in the range 18-21*C. If you can't achieve that, there are ways of heating your FV, so just ask the Forum.